B. P. Herrington, composer

“Three works were given their first performances [by the London Sinfonietta]. By far the most individual was Herrington's Symphonia, which put aural memories of the composer's Texas childhood through the mincer.” (The London Times)
“..an intriguing blend of common-man expression and formal acuity.”
(The New York Sun)
Sound Samples (click on title)
"How Come That Blood" - Daniel Saenz, cello; Brenden Kinsella, piano.
"Testament" (on a poem by Carolyn Adams) -
Meagan Stapleton, soprano; SHSU Percussion Group, Dr. John Lane, director.
Excerpt from "The Old Kaiser Burnout" -
SHSU Symphony Orchestra. Dr. David Cole, conductor.
Royal Philharmonic Society Composition Prize
Morton Gould Young Composers Award (ASCAP)
Leo Kaplan Award (ASCAP)
Finalist for American Prize (Orchestral)
Finalist for American Prize (Wind Ensemble)
First Music Prize (New York Youth Symphony)